Borden Park and the Gospel

To many local folks around Kingsport the Borden Park area is “home”.  Many have come and gone through this park and through this neighborhood.  I’m sure if the trees could talk they would speak of an untold number of stories that have taken place under their shade.  I’ve been here for seven months now and what I know of Borden Park pales in comparison to those of you who have told me that you could write a book about it.  I simply know that these homes were built by an old mill that used to be here.  I’ve heard that the park was used for a great deal of drug trafficking that has cleared out in the past few years.  I don’t know much about either of those two things, but what I do know is that I drive by it about 100 times a month.  I know people come for family reunions, picnics, tennis, frisbee golf, daily “ballers” who shoot hoops till it’s dark outside, and I’ve even seen the occasional homeless man sleeping underneath the shade of a tree.  Before the heat of the summer hit I began walking from my house to church, each day taking notice of those who lived in the area.  I noticed three things everyday:

  1. Toys were everywhere (kids are here)
  2. Porches, beer, and socialization (relationships are important here)
  3. There’s a wide demographic of people who live here (many needs to be met)

All three of these things provide a unique setting to do ministry in.  Two weeks ago we started our ministry “CALVARY @ Borden Park” and it has been a huge success so far.  I am excited about the families we have met and will continue to meet.  Calvary at Borden Park is nothing more than a way to forge gospel centered relationships in our community.  I am still uncertain as to how our church landed in the middle of these 900 homes, but it is, which means it is our mission field.

One of my favorite passages in the Bible is John 1:14, “And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us”.  Reality is that Jesus entered into our world, into our lives, and came to redeem for Himself a people that would worship Him in Spirit and truth.  He set an example and left us with a commission to do the same in the lives of others.  That is what CALVARY @ Borden Park is all about – stepping into the lives of others for the sake of continuing Jesus’ work on earth.

Please pray that God would continue to work through us and in the hearts of those we are ministering to.


Leave a Reply

